(SOLD OUT) Alumni Recital: Chiao-Ling Sun (violin) with Charles Asche (piano)

Event Date: 

Friday, October 26, 2018 - 8:00pm

Event Date Details: 

Event Location: 

  • Karl Geiringer Hall (UCSB)

Event Price: 

(reservation recommended)
UCSB AS Ticket Office: 
(805) 893-2064
UCEN Room 1535 (across from Corwin Pavilion)


Event Contact: 

Adriane Hill
Marketing and Communications Manager
UC Santa Barbara Department of Music
(805) 893-3230
Chiao-Ling Sun
Chiao-Ling Sun

This event is now SOLD OUT. 

UCSB alumna violinist Chiao-Ling Sun (DMA 2001) will present a recital with UCSB faculty member and pianist Charles Asche on Friday, October 26, 2018 at 8 pm in Karl Geiringer Hall on the UCSB campus. Drs. Sun and Asche will perform works by W.A. Mozart, Claude Debussy, and Johannes Brahms.


W.A. MOZART | Sonata for Piano and Violin in B-flat Major, K. 378
Claude DEBUSSY | Sonata for Violin and Piano in G minor, L148
Johannes BRAHMS | Sonata for Violin and Piano, Op. 108
Program subject to change


Dr. Chiao-Ling Sun holds the post of Professor of Violin in the Music Department at the National Taiwan University of the Arts. She currently teaches violin performance, chamber music, and string pedagogy.
After graduating from National Taiwan University of the Arts in 1981 with a diploma in music, she went on to obtain the Bachelor of Music Degree and Master of Music Degree from Peabody Conservatory of Music in 1986. In 1988, Dr. Sun was sent back to the United States on a full scholarship from the University of California, Santa Barbara, where she completed her Doctor of Musical Arts Degree in 2001.
While in the USA, Ms. Sun received the Pi Kappa Lambda Award, YASQ Fellowship, Advanced Teacher Training Program Fellowship, and the INA Broida Graduate Fellowship. She also premiered the “Tapestry” Piano Trio by American composer Joel Feigin at Carnegie Hall.
Chiao-Ling Sun has held the position of concertmistress of the Annapolis Symphony orchestra, Peabody Symphony Orchestra, Peabody Conductor Orchestra, National Experimental Orchestra, and Taiwan Academy of Arts Orchestra. She was also the Associate Concertmistress of the Maryland Symphony Orchestra, and the Baltimore Chamber Orchestra.
Ms. Sun founded and was the director of the highly acclaimed Taiwan String Quartet. The quartet toured the United States, Singapore, and Costa Rica, eliciting reviews from Costa Rican newspapers placing the quartet on a par with the Tokyo String Quartet.
Ms. Sun’s solo career has taken her to performances in numerous international concert halls. Her repertoire includes concertos by Brahms, Mendelssohn, Sibelius, Vivaldi’s “The Four Seasons," Violin Concerto “Butterfly Lovers” by Gang  Zhanhao, Brahms’ “Double Concerto," Beethoven’s “Triple Concerto,"  and Vaughan Williams “The Lark Ascending." The Santa Barbara Independent described her performance:
“Her playing reflects a spirit of spontaneity that is both exciting and mesmerizing. Her natural romanticism creates an intensely moving experience.”
In recent years, Professor Sun has been invited to teach at various international music festivals, such as Schlern/Semper International Music Festival and Arcidosso International Music Festivals in Italy, as well as the Saarburg and Sulzbach-Rosenberg International Music Festivals in Germany. She is a distinguished violin professor in Taiwan.
Chiao-Ling Sun